Home Stories 2023 Story of the Year Finalists

2023 Story of the Year Finalists


Here are the twelve finalists for the 2023 Story of the Year award!

JANUARY: Your Umbrella by Caroline Ashley
FEBRUARY: The Invisible Girl by Nikki Davison
MARCH: Vernacular by Laura Besley
APRIL: Widowmaker by Tim Boiteau
MAY: Woman-ness by Kelli Short Borges
JUNE: The Librarian and the Time Machine by Chelsea Allen
JULY: I watch the bones sink to the bottom by J.C. Pillard
AUGUST: Monday Morning by Brian Maycock
SEPTEMBER: Blink by Keith J. Powell
OCTOBER: Desert Blues in a Minor Key by Jonathan Kosik
NOVEMBER: Medicinal by Meg Pokrass
DECEMBER: Keeping Up Appearances by Lynn Kozlowski

The winner, as chosen by editor Tim Sevenhuysen, will be announced on Sunday, January 28!

The prize for the Story of the Year winner is:

  • $50 (Canadian)
  • Enshrinement in the 50WS Hall of Fame

Let everyone know your favourite story in the comments!

Throwback: In 2014, Bob Thurber won the Story of the Year award with his piece The Mapmaker’s Calligraphist Daughter. In 2015, Guy Preston took the prize with One Job Away From Retirement. The 2016 winner was Jennifer L. Freed, for Aunt Peg. In 2017, Constellations by Jonathan Kosik won the award. In 2018, Bob Thurber won his second Story of the Year award for The Summer of Sweet Mary (circa 1972). In 2019, Evan McMurry won the Story of the Year for After the Water. The 2020 story of the year was Your Pills by Jennifer L. Freed, for her second win. For 2021, N. West Moss won Story of the Year for A man (not her husband). The 2022 story of the year was Cherry Blossom by Tim Boiteau.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here