Home Sports Premier League top scorers 2021/22

Premier League top scorers 2021/22


Mohamed Salah is currently in pole position to win the Premier League Golden Boot, having scored 16 goals so far in 2021/22.

Harry Kane is the defending champion after he held off a long challenge from Salah to narrowly finish first in the top-flight scoring charts with 23 last season.

READ MORE: What are the Premier League fixtures and results this week?

That was the third success for Kane, matching the total of Golden Boot triumphs held by the all-time EPL record goalscorer Alan Shearer.

This year Kane will be seeking what would be a record-equalling fourth crown.

European Golden Shoe: 2021/22 standings and award history

Salah and Bruno Fernandes, who each made the podium last season, entered the campaign hoping to challenge again, while a proven Premier League scorer, Romelu Lukaku, returned to Chelsea after a prolific spell in Serie A with Inter.

Man Utd then brought Cristiano Ronaldo back to Old Trafford in a sensational return, making 2021/22 look like the most competitive Golden Boot race in years.

Former winner Jamie Vardy, Leeds striker Patrick Bamford, Everton’s Dominic Calvert-Lewin, West Ham star Michail Antonio and Aston Villa duo Ollie Watkins and Danny Ings are part of a strong contingent from outside England’s ‘big six’ teams who were rated as contenders when the season began.

Keep this page saved throughout the season as we take an in-depth look at the latest standings for the players who have the most EPL goals.

Raheem Sterling has joined Liverpool duo Mohamed Salah and Diogo Jota in the top three of the Premier League Golden Boot race.

Salah is back in club action after coming back from AFCON duty with Egypt and still leads despite going without a goal in Liverpool‘s wins against Leicester City and Burnley last week.

It was fellow forward Jota who scored both goals in the Leicester victory, moving his total in an impressive 2021/22 campaign to 12, now just four behind the leader.

The two Liverpool stars are dominating the goalscoring charts in England as no other players had reached double figures before Sterling’s exploits at the weekend.

Man City attacker Sterling scored a hat-trick as his side thumped Norwich City 4-0 to move to 10 goals, already matching his top-flight total from last season.

Sterling has now reached double figures in five consecutive Premier League seasons.

Former Golden Boot winner Jamie Vardy and Tottenham star Son Heung-min are the next best players in the standings with nine goals each.

Cristiano Ronaldo heads a large group of eight players who have eight strikes to their names, but the Man Utd star is still waiting for his first goal of 2022.

Sadio Mane, who like Salah is just back from the AFCON, is among those attackers sitting level with Ronaldo on eight, meaning there is still the prospect of an all-Liverpool podium.

Defending champion Harry Kane remains on five goals, meaning he sits a huge 11 off the pace being set by Salah, even though the Liverpool sensation missed significant time while on international duty.

2021/22 EPL top goalscorers

Who are the past winners of the Premier League Golden Boot?

EPL Golden Boot winners

The record for most goals in a season is shared by Alan Shearer (1994/95) and Andy Cole (1993/94).

Both players scored an astonishing 34 goals, though the season was longer then – Shearer did it in 42 matches and Cole in 40.

Mohamed Salah came close to that record in 2017/18, scoring 32 times in 36 outings, producing the best Premier League goalscoring season for 13 years.

The Golden Boot winner with the best goals per game ratio in a season is Harry Kane.

England’s captain netted 29 times in just 30 games to win the 2016/17 title, averaging 0.97 goals per game.

Arsenal and Liverpool have had the most Premier League Golden Boot winners, with six each. Man Utd have had five while Tottenham and Chelsea are on four.

There are only three players who have scored the most goals in the EPL more than twice.

Shearer won the Golden Boot three times, once with Newcastle and twice with Blackburn Rovers, while Kane’s win in 2020/21 was also his third.

Thierry Henry holds the record, though, having been named the top scorer in the Premier League on four occasions for Arsenal.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Luis Suarez have both won the award, scoring 31 goals in 2007/08 and 2013/14 respectively.

The Premier League began from the 1992/93 season.

Prior to that, Ian Wright was the last highest goalscorer in England when it was the old First Division.

Gary Lineker and Alan Smith were also winners in the 1990s before the league was rebranded.

Premier League: Player stats including appearances, goals and assists

Who are the Premier League top scorers of all time?

Alan Shearer is the highest goalscorer in Premier League history, having ended his career in 2006 with a magnificent 260 goals to his name in England’s top division.

Man Utd legend Wayne Rooney (208) is the only other player who has scored more than 200 EPL goals.

Andy Cole (187), Sergio Aguero (184), Frank Lampard (177) and Thierry Henry (175) are other former Premier League players who sit near the top of the all-time list.

Kane is the highest-scoring active player and had 166 goals when he started this season.

He has long been cited as one of the rare contenders who has a chance to rival Shearer’s record total.

Robbie Fowler (163), Jermain Defoe (162) and Michael Owen (150) round out the 10 players in EPL history who have scored 150 goals or more.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here